After Navjot Singh Sidhu’s resignation, here are the top runners for Punjab Congress chief’s post


After Punjab Congress Chief Navjot Singh Sidhu tendered his resignation from the post, speculations are rife over who could be the next Punjab Congress Chief.

Sidhu had in July taken over as the President of Punjab Congress, leading to a clash between him and the then state Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh.

In a letter addressed to Congress National President Sonia Gandhi, Sidhu said that he can never compromise on Punjab’s future and the agenda for the welfare of Punjab.

“The collapse of a man’s character stems from the compromise corner, I can never compromise on Punjab’s future and the agenda for the welfare of Punjab. Therefore, I hereby resign as the President of Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee. Will continue to serve the Congress,” read the letter.

Here are some probable candidates for the post of the Punjab Congress Chief:

Sunil Jakhar

Another member of Congress who is eyeing the chief ministerial position is Sunil Jakhar. He may seem unlikely to hold a post but as the Aam Aadmi Party is gaining its power in Punjab, Congress might have to consider a non-Sikh candidate for elections. 

Jakhar has been elected thrice consecutively from the Abohar constituency from 2002 to 2017. He was also elected from Gurdaspur, Punjab to the Lok Sabha the Lower House of Parliament in a by-election.

Pratap Singh Bajwa

Pratap Singh Bajwa is the MP of Rajya Sabha from Punjab and has represented Gurdaspur from 2009-2014 as a member of Lok Sabha. 

He began his political career in 1976 as a student and became the President of Youth Congress in 1982 and later the President of State Congress.

Sukhjinder Singh Randhawa

Randhawa first successfully contested for Punjab Legislative Assembly from Fatehgarh Churian in 2002 defeating Akali dal’s Nirmal Singh Kahlon. In 2012, he was elected from the new constituency Dera Baba Nanak. He was one of the 42 INC MLAs who submitted their resignation in protest of a decision of the Supreme Court of India ruling Punjab’s termination of the Sutlej-Yamuna Link (SYL) water canal unconstitutional.

Amrinder Singh Raja Warring

An elected Member of Legislative Assembly from Gidderbaha, district Sri Muktsar Sahib, Punjab to the Punjab Legislative Assembly, Warring was also president of the Indian Youth Congress, the youth division of Indian National Congress, from December 2014 to May 2018.In March 2017, he was elected as an MLA for the second successive time, after completing his first term from 2012–2017. Warring contested from Bathinda constituency in the 2019 Indian general election against Harsimrat Kaur Badal but lost by over 20,000 votes.

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! Swift Telecast is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Leave a comment