Tokyo Olympics 2020 LIVE: Latest news, results and medals

0 5

Tokyo 2020 round-up: Adam Peaty reaches 100m breaststroke final

Day four of the Olympics Games sees Simone Biles go for her first of six possible Olympic gold medals in Tokyo in the women’s team final (from 7.45pm JST/11.45am BST).

British hopes were resting on swimmer Duncan Scott going in the men’s 200m freestyle final alongside teammate Tom Dean, and the duo did not disappoint with Dean taking gold and Scott silver. Bianca Walkden competes in the women’s +67kg taekwondo category (final 10pm JST/2pm BST). Mahama Cho goes in the men’s +80kg class. Andy Murray and Joe Salisbury will be in action in the men’s tennis doubles (11am JST/3am BST) while Team GB take on reigning champions Fiji in rugby sevens.

Earlier Flora Duffy added the Olympic title to her collection of world titles to win Bermuda’s first ever Games gold medal, as Britain’s Georgia Taylor-Brown won silver despite suffering a punctured tyre in a rain-soaked women’s triathlon.

1627350978

Tokyo Olympics: Swimming gold and silver for Team GB

There were high hopes for GB’s Duncan Scott in the men’s 200m freestyle swimming final and he has taken silver – but it was his compatriot Tom Dean who took gold, making it a remarkable result for Britain. Dean touched home in 1 minute 44.22 seconds while Scott trailed behind him by only .04 seconds. Brazil’s Fernando Scheffer took the third spot.

Namita Singh27 July 2021 02:56

1627349618

Tokyo Olympics: Bermuda wins first ever gold

Multiple world champion Flora Duffy added the Olympic title to her collection to win Bermuda’s first ever gold medal, as Britain’s Georgia Taylor-Brown won silver despite suffering a punctured tyre in a rain-soaked women’s triathlon in Tokyo.

Taylor-Brown and her friend and training partner Jess Learmonth were in the lead group as they emerged from the swim and stayed there throughout the cycle until Taylor-Brown’s misfortune late in the ride. It left her with ground to make up but she transitioned well and began picking off rivals, including Learmonth, to hunt down a hard-earned medal.

“I didn’t know what to do, so I just rode out on the flat,” Taylor-Brown explained afterwards. “It was panic mode but it paid off.” Her gutsy performance produced a second triathlon silver after Alex Yee’s second-place finish at the start of what became a ‘Magic Monday’ for Team GB.

Lawrence Ostlere27 July 2021 02:33

1627349445

Tokyo Olympics day 4

British hopes rest on swimmer Duncan Scott going in the men’s 200m freestyle final alongside teammate Tom Dean (10.40am JST/2.40am BST), and Kathleen Dawson going in the women’s 100m backstroke final (10.50am JST/2.50am BST). Bianca Walkden competes in the women’s +67kg taekwondo category (final 10pm JST/2pm BST). Mahama Cho goes in the men’s +80kg class. Andy Murray and Joe Salisbury will be in action in the men’s tennis doubles (11am JST/3am BST) while Team GB take on reigning champions Fiji in rugby sevens.

Earlier Flora Duffy added the Olympic title to her collection of world titles to win Bermuda’s first ever Games gold medal, as Britain’s Georgia Taylor-Brown won silver despite suffering a punctured tyre in a rain-soaked women’s triathlon.

Lawrence Ostlere27 July 2021 02:30

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! Swift Telecast is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.